Week 5: The Five Minute Challenge – We’re not broken, just bent

This was a sad week for our country between the terror in Boston and the tragedy in Waco. As a Mother, I feel these tragedies differently than I did before Evie arrived. My heart breaks for the parents of the little boy in Boston and for all those children who lost their parents in Waco. As some of you may know, my baby brother is a career fire fighter, so I think of the service men and women who selflessly give of themselves to protect others. Times like this show the very worst and the very best in people.

With all of this in mind, It seemed a fitting week to finally shoot in the weeping willow I drive past every day. Classic Evie totally worked her somber look. It was almost as if there were moments that she could feel my sorrow, despite my best efforts to shield her from the harsh reality of the world.

At the same time, we had a few joyous moments. It reminded me of lyrics from the latest Pink song:
“We’re not broken, just bent. And we can learn to love again”.

May the wounds of the broken be healed. And may be try to love each other just a little more, a little better.

Until next time,
Sarah

2013-04-15_0002.jpg
2013-04-21_0012.jpg
2013-04-17_0038.jpg
2013-04-17_0037.jpg
2013-04-15_0001.jpg

Leave a Reply

