Week 10: 5 Minute Challenge – The grass is always greener

Recently I asked my favorite vendor, Ginger of A Piece of the Plan, to create a special bonnet for Evie. Ginger hand embroidered this amazing bonnet for Evie and added beautiful silk ties. It was everything I envisioned and more.

After spending quite some time designing the bonnet with Ginger, I started to think about how I wanted to photograph it. I had this vision of Evie in a tall corn field, peeking out of the corn hide and seek style. I called my brother, who lives in the country, to ask how tall the corn was. 3-4 feet he replied. PERFECT.

So the day of the shoot came and we drove an hour to said corn field, only to find there was no corn at all. Punked by my brother. I’m 31 and still getting punked by my little brother. Even Evie looks miffed in the photos!
2013-06-09_0072.jpg
2013-06-09_0074.jpg
2013-06-09_0073.jpg

Fast forward a few weeks and we made another trip to the country. I packed the bonnet and a simple white dress just in case I was inspired to try again. What happened was magic. A beautiful field, rolling hills in the background, a cooperative toddler (AMAZING in and of itself!) and just 2 minutes to shoot before a downpour. The end result is far better than anything I could ever imagine and I feel I did Ginger’s bonnet justice.

Seeing these images almost makes me wish we lived in the country where I feel like I’m surrounded by all the glory Mother Nature can dish out. But as they say, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

You can check out more of Ginger’s gorgeous bonnets, blankets and knit items at:
https://www.facebook.com/APieceOfThePlan

Until next time,
Sarah

2013-06-28_0001.jpg
2013-06-28_0002.jpg
2013-06-28_0003.jpg
2013-06-28_0004.jpg

One thought on “Week 10: 5 Minute Challenge – The grass is always greener

  1. Awe Sarah! She is just so beautiful!!!! Love it and it was such an honor designing that bonnet with you for her ❤

Leave a Reply

