7 fun holiday kids activities you can do on the CHEAP!

If you are anything like me, you get a serious case of the Holiday Fa-la-la’s starting in early November. I crank up the Christmas music (favorites of mine include Mariah Carey and The Preacher’s Wife soundtrack) and start watching Elf on repeat.
But holiday festivities can start to get expensive. So I came up with this list of 7 things you can do for $10 or less!
1. Go see Santa.
evie claire photography_1646.jpg
Now…I did spend $30 on pictures because I’m a sucker but many places allow you to visit Santa free of charge. Get your kiddo dressed up and make it a special moment for them! We practiced what Evie would say for days and she was so proud to tell Santa her whole name.
2. Bake cookies
evie claire photography_1645.jpg

Every year my Mom and I bake tons of cookies. This year Evie was old enough to stamp the imprints in the Lemon Criss Cross cookies on her own. Find little ways that your child can help, be it mixing the batter, rolling the dough or cutting out the shapes.
3. Make a felt tree for them to decorate and re-decorate
evie claire photography_1644.jpg
I saw this idea on Pinterest and thought it was GENIUS! Last year Evie insisted on taking all her ornaments off her little tree every day. This is a much easier tree to re-decorate and she had so much fun bedazzling the ornaments with little gem stickers. If your child is old enough, they could cut the ornaments out themselves (although felt is a bit tricky to cut). Total cost for this project was $8.50
See the original pinned idea here: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/166914729913658621/
4. Make a Santa face
evie claire photography_1643.jpg
We actually made this craft last year. You probably have everything needed to make it right in your house: a plate, some construction paper,cotton balls and glue. What kid doesn’t love glue??? I’m pretty sure I ate a good bit of it as a child but that’s a story for another time!
See the original pinned idea here: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/166914729913658626/
5. Fingerprint Christmas Lights
evie claire photography_1642.jpg
I’ll be honest, this isn’t our finest effort but we literally did this one night while waiting for dinner to cook. If you want to see how a SuperMom does it, check out this pin: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/166914729913658628/ All it takes is a little fingerpaint and some level of drawing ability (which I clearly lack). Don’t cha like my fridge full of magnets? The bottom half is completely covered in princess stickers, thus confirming the fact that I have turned into the kind of parent I swore I’d never be!
6. Decorate a Gingerbread House
evie claire photography_1641
Now if you want to be all Martha Steward like, you can make your own but I bought this beauty at Harris Teeter for $9.99. It was great because the kit included everything and Evie LOVED decorating the house and sneaking candies when she thought I wasn’t looking. I displayed it on a mirrored glass tray and surrounded the house with fake snow that I got at Target. Here’s a link to an article that reviews Gingerbread kits: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/166914729913658623/
7. Get in your car and go find the best aka tackiest Christmas light displays
evie claire photography_1647.jpg
This is one of our favorite things to do as a family. We get in the car, cover Evie with a warm blanket, and drive in a different decoration as we search for the most wildly decorated house. We put the Christmas music station on the radio and enjoy the sights. This was our best find so far! Pardon the iPhone shot!

Want more holiday inspiration? Follow my “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” blog on Pinterest!

Now go make some memories!

Leave a Reply

